Thursday, 11 April 2013

Birmingham Law Society Legal Awards

Tony Rollason,our man on the ground, provides his account of the evening

We extend our congratulations to Sydney Mitchell LLP who won the Law Firm of the Year (5-15 partners category) that Landmark sponsored at the recent Birmingham Law Society Legal Awards.  Sydney Mitchell LLP, commercial & residential property and wills & probate specialists, previously won the award in 2008 and 2011. Sydney Mitchell specialist teams include commercial property and their private client teams include residential property and wills and probate.

The Birmingham Law Society Legal Awards, attended by over 500 legal professionals, took place at the ICC Birmingham. The host for the evening was ITV weather presenter Emma Jesson and the speaker Baroness Helena Kennedy QC a leading Human Rights Lawyer.

In the other award categories Eversheds LLP was named law firm of the year (16 partners or more), beating off competition from Gateley LLP, Irwin Mitchell Solicitors, Mills & Reeve LLP and SGH Martineau LLP.  The award for Law Firm of the Year (Sole Practitioner to 4 partners) was awarded to Jayne Willetts & Co Solicitors.

In the individual categories, Olwen Dutton of Bevan Brittan LLP won partner of the year, while Clive Garner, partner at Irwin Mitchell Solicitors, won international lawyer of the year.  James Dixon,  barrister at No5 Chambers, was awarded the title of pro bono lawyer of the year, with Adam Fisher of Wragge & Co LLP, winning assistant/associate solicitor of the year, and Michael Vale of Sydney Mitchell LLP picking up chartered legal executive of the year.

In the final two categories, Tariq Sadiq from St Philips Chambers won barrister of the year and Abisola Latunji of SGH Martineau LLP was named trainee solicitor of the year.  There was also special recognition for Peter Wiseman, who was awarded the Birmingham Law Society lifetime achievement award.

No comments:

Post a Comment